Faculty

Faculty

 
 
Language and Literature Group Photo 

Members of the Language and Literature Faculty. From Right to Left, Front Row: Dr. Margaret Barnhart, Dorothy Renner, Dr. Holly McBee, Dr. Kathleen Hanna. Back Row: Dr. Alan Church, Dr. Peter Grimes, Dr. Jim McWilliams, Dr. Michael Cartmill, and Dr. David Schreindl

 

Language and Literature Faculty

An outstanding faculty is one of the hallmarks of the Department of Language and Literature. DSU faculty members regularly publish stories, poems, essays and plays. Many have received national awards and regional recognition for their teaching, scholarship, and creative writing. The modern language instructors frequently provide translation service for personal, professional and commercial purposes.

 

Chair

Alan Church Dr. Alan Church
Chair of the Department of Language and Literature
Professor of English
Office: Stickney Hall 221
Phone: (701) 483-2125
Email: Alan.Church@dickinsonstate.edu
University of Washington, Ph.D.
Arizona State University M.A., B.A. 
 

 

 


Faculty 

Margaret Barnhart Margaret Barnhart
Lecturer of English
Office: Stickney Hall 214
Phone: (701) 483-2127
Email: Margaret.Barnhart@dickinsonstate.edu
Dickinson State University, B.S. 

 

 

 

 

 Michael Cartmil Dr. Michael Cartmill
Associate Professor of Spanish
Office: Stickney Hall 218
Phone: (701) 483-2472
Email: Michael.Cartmill@dsu.nodak.edu
Web page
University of Utah, Ph.D.
Arizona State University, M.A.
Brigham Young University, B.A
 

  

 

 

Peter Grimes Dr. Peter Grimes
Assistant Professor of English
Office: Stickney Hall 211
Phone: (701) 483-2142
Email: Peter.Grimes@dickinsonstate.edu
University of Cincinnati, Ph.D.
University of Florida, M.F.A.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, B.A
 

 

 
 


Kathleen Hanna Dr. Kathleen Hanna
Assistant Professor of English
Office: Murphy 233
Phone: (701) 225-9630
Email: Kathy.Hanna@dickinsonstate.edu
University of North Dakota, Ph.D.
Utah State University, M.A.
Brigham Young University, B.I.S.
 

 

  

 


Holly McBee

Dr. Holly McBee
Assistant Professor of English
Office: Stickney Hall 213
Phone: (701) 483-2002
Email: Holly.Mcbee@dickinsonstate.edu
Purdue University, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University, M.A.
University of Iowa, B.A.
 

 

 
 

 
Jim McWilliams Dr. Jim McWilliams
Professor of English
Office: Stickney Hall 215
Phone: (701) 483-2145
Email: James.Mcwilliams@dickinsonstate.edu
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Ph.D.
Southwest Missouri University, M.A., B.A.

 

  

 

 

Dorothy Renner Dorothy Renner
Instructor of German and Psychology
Office: May Hall 205
Phone: (701) 483-2832
Email: Dorothy.l.renner@dickinsonstate.edu
Capella University, M.S
University of Maryland, B.S.
Dickinson State University, B.A., B.S.
 

 

 
 

 

 David Schreindl Dr. David Schreindl
Assistant Professor of Journalism and Communication
Office: Stickney Hall 212
Phone: (701) 483-2124
Email: David.Schreindl@dsu.nodak.edu
Ohio University, Ph.D.
Brigham Young University, B.A., M.A
 

 

   

 

 

 

Staff

Marie Fichter Marie Fichter
Administrative Secretary
Office: Stickney Hall 221
Phone: (701) 483-2316
Email: Marie.Fichter@dickinsonstate.edu