Faculty

Faculty

The faculty members in the Department of Social Sciences are highly regarded by their peers. Most of the instructors have earned a doctorate degree and each instructor has a special academic interest which contributes to his expertise in the field.

Dedicated and concerned, the instructors care deeply about the success of their students and their concern is demonstrated by informal conversations and formal consultations. Close mentoring by faculty members guarantee students have the benefit of individual appraisal and assistance.

David Meier Dr. David Meier
Chair of the Department of Social Sciences

Professor of History
Office: Stickney Hall 422
Phone: (701) 483-2116
Email: David.Meier@dickinsonstate.edu
University of Wisconsin, M.A.; Ph.D.
Eastern Illinois University, B.A.
   







Photo Not Available Dr. Gary Cummisk
Assistant Professor of Geography
Office: Stickney Hall 412
Phone: (701) 483-2410
Email: Gary.Cummisk@dickinsonstate.edu
University of Oregon, Ph.D.
Cornell University, M.F.A.
Central Washington University, M.S.
Virginia Wesleyan College, B.A.
 

  

 

Photo Not AvailableDr. Steven Doherty
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Office: Stickney Hall 419
Phone: (701) 483-2065
Email: Steven.Doherty@dickinsonstate.edu
Loyola University Chicago, Ph.D.
Iowa State University, M.A.
University of Wisconsin - Superior, B.S.
 

 

 



Photo Not AvailableFernando Quijano
Assistant Professor of Economics
Office: Stickney Hall 414
Phone: (701) 483-2423
Email: Fernando.Quijano@dickinsonstate.edu
Mr. Quijano’s web page
University of North Dakota, M.A.
University of Alaska, Fairbanks, B.A.
 

 

 
 

 
Photo Not AvailableGlen Roshau
Lecturer of Mathematics and Economics
Office: Klinefelter Hall 308
Phone: (701) 483-2474
Email: Glen.Roshau@dickinsonstate.edu
University of North Dakota, M.S.
Dickinson State University, B.S.
 

 

 

 

 

Frank VarneyDr. Frank P. Varney
Assistant Professor of History
Office: Stickney Hall 411
Phone: (701) 483-2144
Email: Frank.Varney@dickinsonstate.edu
Cornell University, M.A., Ph.D.
William Paterson University of New Jersey, B.A.
 

 

 
 

 

Photo Not AvailableBonnie Johnson
Adjunct Instructor of History
Office: Stickney Hall 418
Phone: (701) 222-0284
Email: BonnieTJohnson@hotmail.com
Drake University, B.A., M.A.  

 

 

 
 

 

Laurie KarieLaurie Karie
Instructor of Sociology
Office: Stickney Hall 421
Phone: (701) 483-2494
Email: Laurie.Karie@dickinsonstate.edu
The University of Kansas, M.A
Mid-America Nazarene University, B.A