Dickinson State University’s leadership team works with faculty, staff, students, and the community to build strong and supportive educational experiences that are accessible, affordable, and relevant to the economy, health, and quality of life of North Dakotans.

Stephen D. Easton, J.D., was named the 13th president of Dickinson State University during a State Board of Higher Education meeting March 26, 2020.

Easton has a strong personal connection to Dickinson State University. Easton, who graduated summa cum laude from DSU in 1980 with a bachelor’s degree in accounting and a minor in business administration, was the third generation of his family to choose Dickinson State. After earning his undergraduate degree at DSU, Easton enrolled in Stanford Law School where he earned his Juris Doctorate in 1983.

Easton practiced law for more than 20 years before returning to higher education as a professor and administrator.

Steve Easton

Academic Affairs and Student Affairs work together to support DSU students in learning, research, and service both in and beyond the classroom. Staff and faculty strive to deliver high-quality programs that that stimulate imaginations, strengthen critical thinking, and build skills for successful futures.

The Provost and Vice President and the Deans serve on the President’s Cabinet.

Holly Gruhlke
Vice President

Kayla Noah
Dean of Students

Six staff departments make up the Division of Finance and Administration; these include: business affairs, public safety, facilities, human resources, mailroom services, and information technology services. The staff in the division work together to create a campus environment that is well maintained, safe, and that encourages positive interactions between students, faculty, staff, and visitors.

The Chief Financial Officer serves on the President’s Cabinet.

The Office of Intercollegiate Athletics is proud to include 16 competitive sports including: baseball, basketball, cheerleading, cross-country, esports, football, golf, rodeo, softball, track and field, volleyball, and wrestling. DSU is a member of the North Star Athletic Association conference and nationally affiliated with the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics and the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. In 2019, DSU began offering opportunities to compete at the junior varsity level. Blue Hawk athletics uphold DSU institutional values and the NAIA Champions of Character values including integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership. Coaching of student athletes goes beyond the field and supports development of character in life and in competition.

The Director of Intercollegiate Athletics serves on the President’s Cabinet.

Pete Stanton
Athletic Director

The DSU Heritage Foundation was established in 2015 with a vision to be the premier supporter for Dickinson State University in its commitment to provide the finest and most invigorating global-learning environment. The DSU Heritage Foundation works with alumni and friends of the university to develop scholarship funds, which enables students to pursue higher education. Scholarship areas include academic, merit, intercollegiate, athletic, department, and performance. The DSU Heritage Foundation and its Board promote the university by hosting and participating in community events.

The Executive Director of the DSU Heritage Foundation serves on the President’s Cabinet. 

Ty Orton
Executive Director

Dickinson State University’s Faculty Senate brings any campus issues to the administration’s attention, discusses and develops ideas for university improvement, helps create general university policy, and provides communication between all members of the university community.

It’s important to DSU leadership to have faculty involved in recommending and developing policies and procedures as these affect the entire campus community.

The President of Faculty Senate serves on the President’s Cabinet. 

Dickinson State University’s Staff Senate, established in 1996, is a representative body of the University's staff employees. Staff Senate communicates issues of mutual concern between the university president, the Staff Senate Executive Committee, and staff employees. It also strives to create a spirit of unity, pride, and cooperation among all university employees.

The President of Staff Senate serves on the President’s Cabinet. 

The Student Senate, elected by the student body, forms recommendations, makes decisions, and votes on matters concerning the students. Serving as a channel of communication amongst administration, faculty, staff, and students, the Student Senate represents the student voice by making recommendations to university administrators on student issues.

The President of Student Senate serves on the President’s Cabinet.

Visit Student Senate webpage

Campus organizational charts are available upon request from Human Resources.

Questions? Contact Us.

Office of Human Resources
May Hall, Room 309


Call 701-502-4408