Dickinson State University held the 2022 Faculty and Staff Recognition & Awards Ceremony Monday, May 2, 2022, in the DSU Student Center Ballroom. The following individuals were recognized for excellence in their respective areas.

Administrative Staff Service Award

Cindy Splichal, Information Specialist, Office of Academic Records and Office of Financial Aid

Cindy Splichal Photo

Professional Staff Service Award(s)

Christopher Meek, Director, Office of Financial Aid

Chris Meek Accepting Award

Kathy Meyer, Registrar/Director, Office of Academic Records

Kathy Meyer accepting award

Adjunct Faculty Recognition Award(s)

Wallace “Gene” Miller, Adjunct Faculty, Department of Agriculture and Technical Studies

Wallace Miller Photo

Haylee (Cripe) Culver, Adjunct Faculty, School of Business and Entrepreneurship

Haylee Culver Photo

Professional Contributions Award

Dr. Brittany Hirth, Assistant Professor of English, Department of Arts and Letters

Brittany Hirth accepting award

Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Deborah Secord, Associate Professor of Education, School of Education

Deborah Secord accepting award

Distinguished Educator of the Year

Loretta Heidt, Assistant Professor of Business and Chair, School of Business and Entrepreneurship

Loretta Heidt accepting award

Retiring Faculty and Staff and/or Emeriti Faculty and Staff 

Those retiring from the University with 15 or more years of service received a special recognition and rocking chair, provided by the DSU Heritage Foundation. 

Alicia Erickson, Development Officer, Alumni and Academics – Staff Emerita

Sharon Kilzer, Project Manager, Theodore Roosevelt Center – Staff Emerita

Dr. Cheryl Lantz, Associate Professor of Nursing, Department of Nursing – Retiring Faculty

Melvin Larson, Maintenance Worker, Facility Operations – Staff Emeritus

Kathleen Obritsch, Remote Course Delivery Coordinator, IT Services – Staff Emerita