The North Dakota Council of Teachers of English (NDCTE) has named Dickinson State University (DSU) student Alyssa Buckman as a recipient of the John Wall Promising Artist Scholarship. This $500 student scholarship is awarded to a student who shows great promise in his or her pursuit of a career as a creative artist.

Buckman was honored at an awards banquet July 19, 2022, as part of the NDCTE annual conference in Mandan, North Dakota. She was nominated for the scholarship by Bowman County High School English teacher Lyndsey Erickson in recognition of Buckman’s promise as a writer and future English language arts teacher.

At DSU, Buckman majors in English Education. Her advisor is English and education faculty member Kevin Moberg, who also serves on the NDCTE board of directors as its College Representative.

DSU was represented at this year’s NDCTE conference by several alumnae, including Mandan teacher Janae Miller, who serves with Moberg on the board of directors and co-hosted the conference; and Dickinson teacher MariLynn Pilalis, who presented sessions on The What, Why, and How of Writing Conferences with Mentor Texts.

Other DSU alumnae participating in the conference were Laney Baker, Haleigh Harter, Jessica Schmeichel, Starla Tipton, and Mandy Wardner (Bismarck); Lyndsey Erickson (Bowman); Sarah Poswilko (Dickinson); and Stephanie Heck (Hebron).