Dickinson State University held the 2023 Faculty and Staff Recognition & Awards Ceremony Thursday, May 4, 2023, in the DSU Student Center Ballroom.

DSU President Steve Easton shared, "At Dickinson State, our students benefit from having some wonderful staff and faculty. It is good to formally recognize a few of them with these annual awards."

The following individuals were recognized for excellence in their respected areas.

Distinguished Educator of the Year –

  • Thadd O’Donnell – Assistant Professor of Health & Physical Education, School of Kinesiology

Innovative Teacher of the Year –

  • Tim Kessel – Assistant Professor of Business & Finance, School of Business and Entrepreneurship

Professional Contributions Award –

  • Marcus Fries – Associate Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Excellence in Teaching Award –

  • Debora Dragseth – Professor of Business Administration, School of Business and Entrepreneurship

Adjunct Faculty Recognition Awards –

  • Carl Bercier – Instructor of Welding, Department of Agriculture and Technical Studies
  • Victoria Dassinger – Adjunct of Nursing, Department of Nursing

Physical Plant Staff Service Award –

  • Luann Havelka – Custodian, Facility Operations

Administrative Staff Service Award –

  • Laurie Heick – Administrative Secretary, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science and Department of Natural Sciences

Professional Staff Service Awards –

  • Stacy Wilkinson – Academic Affairs Coordinator, Division of Academic Affairs
  • Laurie Karie – Director, Counseling and Health Services

Retiring Faculty and Staff and/or Emeriti Faculty and Staff – Those retiring from the University with 15 or more years of service received a special recognition and rocking chair, provided by the DSU Heritage Foundation.

  • Mark Lowe – Assistant Professor of Accounting, Controller
    • Faculty Emeritus and Staff Emeritus
  • Anna Hatzenbuhler – Custodian, Facility Operations
    • Staff Emerita
  • Loretta Heidt – Manager – University Store
    • Staff Emerita
  • Wayne Riedl – Heat Plant Operator – Facility Operations
    • Retiring Staff

To view photos from the ceremony, please click here.